Wyatt’s Stairs

I managed to get the stairs for my youngest son’s bed completed yesterday. I made the stringers out of ¾” VC Birch for a couple of reasons. One is that I wanted the stairs to sit solidly on the floor and be able to take a beating. And two, sheet goods are dimensionally stable and relatively cheap.

However, this reminded me just how much I despise using plywood. You have to do a bunch of monkey tricks to keep the edges from splintering out and using power tools, while convenient, is a noisy mess. Nevertheless, the job is done and looks decent. Most important is that my son loves it and is looking forward to getting his “big boy bed.”

As for me, I can see the end in sight. I just have to build the side rails to keep Wyatt in the bed and then take everything apart, trim ends, ease edges, reassemble, primer, and paint. No sweat.

Wyatt Bed Stairs

Leave a Reply

