Slow Grind

Yesterday I began work on my son’s bed by gluing up 8/4 poplar for the posts.

Wyatts Bed Post

This went exceptionally well so while the glue dried (dripped), I decided to start working on one of the two Buck Brothers chisels I bought to turn into skews. I turned the handle out of some Bloodwood that I had left over from making crochet hooks. I don’t know a lot about this particular wood other than it stinks when you cut into it and it feels dense enough for a chisel handle. Since these chisels will be used like a paring chisel without a lot of mallet abuse it should be good. I applied a coat of Behlen Woodturner’s Finish (also leftover from another project) and left it overnight. I am planning on applying at least two more coats and then buffing with carnauba wax.

Buck Brothers Skew Handle

After the handle was done, I started grinding the blade. I didn’t want to heat up the metal and lose the original temper, so this took a lot longer than I thought it would. I don’t have any fancy rests on my grinder; just the cast rest that came with it, but I wanted to skew the blade approximately 30 degrees. I simply cut a scrap piece at 30 degrees and tilted the rest at 30 degrees. I would grind until the metal felt warm but not hot and then stop and let it cool. It took me about 45min to get the skew ground out. I’m going to do the same process in reverse on the other chisel and then sharpen them up.

Buck Brothers Skew

Leave a Reply

